South Park Buddhism

My greatest weakness is my inability to listen and comprehend. When I listen to someone speaking, my mind tends to follow the music of the voice and gets distracted from any notion of the content being shared. When I taught reading comprehension for Lindamood-Bell Learning Processes one summer, we used a method that stimulated the child’s ability to visualize each part of a story. Since then, I try to visualize in the same way when I’m listening to a story or a lecture, yet I can only keep it up for so long before I become conscious again of the music of the voice or simply of consciousness itself.

While I continue to strengthen this faculty, I rather appreciate visual animations of voice recordings, which is what I have found here. These three voice recordings by the Buddhist scholar Alan Watts have been animated by South Park team members.

